Installed K&N Drop In Air Filters. - - Infiniti G35 & G37 Forum Discussion | panoramic-3d.ru
Show Your Support Become A Premier Member

> > > >
  • Reload this Page >
    • Installed K&N Drop In Air Filters.

Installed K&N Drop In Air Filters.

Old 01-26-2010, 09:53 PM
Installed K&N Drop In Air Filters.

Read some great reviews here and there, decided to give it a try. Same drop in as OEM paper filters, so no technical knowledge is needed.

However, I had a really hard time locking the compartment. I had to use my full force to lock it and it barely locked. Tried unlocking it and it popped opened with just a fingertip. Never had this problem with OEM filters. They just fit right in.

Anybody had same issues? I'm a bit concerned that it might unlock itself when passing thru the speed bumps.

As for the performance goes, I really couldn't notice any differences. May be because I'm a grandpa driver.
Old 01-26-2010, 10:44 PM
Mr.202?
No, performance, And yes more dirt in the engine.

Any how are you sure its in there correctly? It should snap shut, and not be as easy to unclip as you say (duh) :P

I just installed an Aftermarket Filter, and it had a bigger gasket but it still shut easy.
Old 01-27-2010, 12:16 AM
I installed the same filters in my G and it was hard to get the clips to close too. They went in the same way as the OEM filters.
Old 01-27-2010, 01:16 AM
It took a some extra force to get my air boxes closed when I installed the K&N's also, so I don't think it is a big deal.
Old 01-27-2010, 02:28 AM
You're Despicable
Quote:
Originally Posted by thescreensavers View Post
No, performance, And yes more dirt in the engine.

Any how are you sure its in there correctly? It should snap shut, and not be as easy to unclip as you say (duh) :P

I just installed an Aftermarket Filter, and it had a bigger gasket but it still shut easy.